Fountains Earth 01423 755289 / Glasshouses 01423 711440 / St Cuthberts 01423 711407


Fountains Earth and St Cuthbert’s

This area will show all documents uploaded to the /docs/community/governors folder.

Documents will be shown in alphabetical order.
To list in date order, the folder should contain the word ‘letter’ or ‘minute’

Governor Profile Information

iWhen a vacancy for a Parent Governor occurs, parents may stand for election.  There are 2 Parent Governors serving on our Upper Nidderdale Primary Federation and these have been elected for a four year period by formal ballot  We do keep an up-to-date register of parents eligible to vote in this ballot, including the divorced or separated parent with whom the child is not living.

If there were to be any parental complaints these should initially be put to the Headteacher who may be able to resolve the matter simply.  However, if no satisfaction is obtained there is a formal complaints procedure.  Parents should then contact the Clerk to the Governors, Mrs A Lumley via St. Cuthbert’s Primary School, Pateley Bridge 01423 71147 or email

The Chair of Governors for the Upper Nidderdale Primary Federation – Helen Nelson and Hugh Smith can be contacted via

Glasshouses Community Primary School, Glasshouses, Harrogate, HG3 5QH

Our Upper Nidderdale Primary Federation is made up of:

Fountains Earth CE Primary, Glasshouses Community Primary, and St Cuthbert’s CE Primary Schools

Our Governing Board is:

Abigail Broadley Local Authority Governor
Jenny Smail Parent Governor
Helen Nelson – Co-Chair of Governors Parent Governor
Darryl Hall Foundation/Ex Officio Governor*
Vacancy Foundation Governor
Gavin Lewis Foundation Governor
Nicola Thornber Headteacher Governor*
Joel Smith Co-opted Governor
Christine Skaife – Vice Chair of Governors Co-opted Governor
Neil Thompson Co-opted Governor
Hugh Smith – Co-Chair of Governors Co-opted Governor
Connor Caswell Staff Governor
In Progress TBC Co-opted Governor

Governor term of office is 4 yrs (*exempt from 4yr term) – see the following grid for start and end dates to terms of office

. Their term office will end on 16th January 2026.

Upper Nidderdale Primary Federation Governing Board

Fountains Earth C of E CE Primary School
Glasshouses Community Primary School
St Cuthbert’s CE Primary School

Business Interests

Governor Type



Type of

Governor/Appointed by

Committee Membership Responsible for/Monitoring Area Appointed Term Ends Business Interest Attendance 2022 Current Attendance
Broadley, Abigail Local Authority/Local Authority Pupil Discipline Staff Dismissal Finance/HR 17/01/2022 16/01//2026

Director/Founder of Abi Broadley Consulting Ltd

Distant relation via marriage to A Lumley (Clerk)

12/12 2/3
Hall, Darryl Foundation / Ex Officio RE/Spirituality 17/01/2022 * Vicar of Upper Nidderdale 4/12 0/3
Lewis, Gavin Foundation/Diocese

Complaints- Chair Pupil Discipline

Staff Dismissal – Chair

RE/Spirituality/Foundation subjects 17/01/2022 16/01/2026 Nil 8/12 3/3

Nelson, Helen

Co-Chair of Governors

Parent/Parents Staff Dismissal Appeals


Inclusion/Vulnerable Children

17/01/2022 16/01/2026 Nil 9/12 3/3
Skaife, Christine Co-opted/Governing Board Complaints
Pupil Discipline – chair
Staff Dismissal Appeals
SEN/ Vulnerable Children/ Safeguarding 17/01/2022 16/01/2026 Mother of Teaching Assistant at GH and governor N Thompson Raikes/Lupton Foundation committee 10/12 3/3
Smail, Jenny Parent/Parents Complaints Staff Dismissal

Website compliance/English

(writing, phonics & reading)

17/01/2022 16/01/2026 Nil 11/12 3/3
Smith, Joel Co-opted/Governing Board TBV Sports Premium 22/03/2023 21/03/2027 Director IT consultancy (Dales IT Ltd) n/a 2/2

Hugh, Smith

Co-Charir of Governors

Co-opted/Governing Board


Staff Dismissal Appeals – Chair

Communication / change management

Maths / foundation subjects

17/01/2022 16/01/2026 Nil 8/12 3/3
Thompson,Neil Co-opted /Governing Board None H & S / Premises 17/01/2022 16/01/2026

TA at Glasshouses C Primary School Pateley Bridge Town Councillor

Upper Nidderdale Scout Group Leader. Son of governor C Skaife

Raikes/Lupton Foundation committee

8/12 2/3
Thornber, Nicola Headteacher All priority areas * Partner of S Wiseman teacher at FE 12/12 3/3
Caswell, Connor Staff / Staff (previously Associate Member) None Maths / Foundation subjects

17/01/2022 (AM) 20/09/2022


19/09/2026 Base Leader at Glasshouses C Primary School 12/12 3/3
Wilkinson, Nicola Associate Member None SEN 22/03/2023 21/03/2023 Deupty Head Teacher n/a 2/2
Lumley, Angela Clerk to Governors